Board of Directors


Executive Chairman (Appointed June 2014)
Non-Executive Director (Appointed 1 February 2008)
BSc (Hons), MAusIMM
Chairman of the Non-Financial Risk Committee; Member of the Remuneration Committee

Jeremy Read has 23 years domestic and international minerals exploration experience and was previously the Manager of BHP’s Australian Exploration Team. He has extensive exploration experience for nickel and copper sulphides and played a critical role in the discovery of Kabanga North Nickel Deposit in Tanzania.

Jeremy was the founding managing director of Discovery Metals from its incorporation in May 2003, until his appointment as a non-executive director on 1 February 2008.  Mr Read secured the Boseto Copper Project for the Company and was responsible for all Discovery Metals’ fund raising activities and for listing Discovery Metals on the Australian Securities Exchange, Botswana Stock Exchange and the Alternative Investment Market in London.  He was also the founding managing director of Meridian Minerals Limited.


Non-Executive Director (Appointed 30 May 2008)
BSc (Mining Engineering), MSc (Mineral Economics), MBA
Member of the Non-Financial Risk Committee

Ribson is a Mining Engineer with over 30 years experience in the mining industry. For twelve years to December 2006, Ribson was the Director of Mines of Botswana, responsible for administering the legal and fiscal framework governing mineral exploitation. In this role, Ribson was involved in negotiations of mineral agreements for copper, nickel, diamonds, coal and soda ash.
Ribson is a director of all Discovery Metals' subsidiaries registered in Botswana.


 Russell Luxford

Non-Executive Director (Appointed 25 September 2013)
B Eng (Hons)

Russell Luxford is an engineer with over 30 years’ experience in the mining industry working in senior technical and managerial positions for Citadel Resources Group, Ma’aden, WMC, Rio Tinto, RGC and others.  Mr Luxford’s expertise is principally in project development (including commissioning and ramp-up) and operational effectiveness for mine and processing performance improvement.

Russell is also a director of Celamin NL.

Royston Denysschen

Non-Executive Director (Appointed 9 July 2014)

Royston Denysschen has 18 years’ experience in commerce and logistics in Southern Africa.  He has played a key role in the start-up, development and management of successful logistics and peripheral businesses throughout Southern Africa and has held directorships with these companies. Royston joined Transamine in 2010, specifically to focus on the trading of non-ferrous metals and minerals, where he has been overseeing the Transamine Trading S.A. interest in Discovery Metals and it’s off-take operations.


Paul Frederiks

Company Secretary / Chief Financial Officer (Appointed October 2012)
B.Bus (Accounting), FCPA, FAICD, FCSA, FCIS

Paul has extensive experience in public company financial and commercial management with more than 29 years’ experience in the Australian resources sector.   He has an extensive knowledge base in listed public company reporting and compliance, financial modelling and forecasting, treasury management, project financing and corporate governance.  Paul has previously held Chief Financial Officer positions at Geodynamics Limited and Ross Mining NL and has been Company Secretary for Billabong International Limited.